Housing Requirement

  • Living on campus is a critical component of the CLASS (Clustered Learning, Advocacy, and Support for Students) experience. It provides students with the opportunity to live, learn, and experience Rensselaer and the local Troy area with members of their cohort.

On-Campus Living Requirements

The following cohorts are required to live on campus in the Residential Commons:

  • First-year students
  • Second-year students
  • Transfer Students for their first year at Rensselaer (one semester if January admission)
  • Students participating in The Arch summer term.

Greek Life Waiver Exceptions

Second-year students affiliated with an active Greek organization may submit a housing waiver which grants them an exception from the campus housing requirement, allowing them to live in their organization's Institute recognized house. Students are required to return to the Residential Commons for The Arch summer term.

Housing Waivers

Students with extenuating financial or medical/health-related circumstances can request a housing waiver.

Waiver requests are reviewed by a committee that meets once every three weeks. Decisions are sent to the student's Rensselaer email account.

Note: Waivers are only granted for extreme and extenuating circumstances. Signing a lease off-campus, living locally, or roommate concerns will not typically result in a housing waiver.  Submit a request for a housing waiver

Waiver Submission Deadlines

We are no longer accepting applications for Fall 2019 Waivers

For Spring 2020

  • Returning Students- November 15, 2019
  • New Students- December 27, 2019

For Summer 2020

  • All Students- December 27, 2019

For Fall 2020

  • Returning Students- February 7, 2020
  • Incoming First-Year Students- May 22, 2020
  • New Transfer Students- July 24, 2020

Waiver Committee Meetings

Waiver Application Submitted by noon on this date: Waiver Committee will review on this date: Students will be notified of the decision by noon on this date:
Friday, September 13, 2019 Friday, September 20, 2019 Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019 Friday, October 11, 2019 Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019 Friday, November 1, 2019 Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019 Friday, November 22, 2019 Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019 Friday, December 13, 2019 Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Friday, December 27, 2019 Friday, January 3, 2020 Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020 Friday, January 24, 2020 Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020 Friday, February 14, 2020 Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020 Friday, March 6, 2020 Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020 Friday, March 27, 2020 Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020 Friday, April 17, 2020 Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020 Friday, May 8, 2020 Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020 Friday, May 29, 2020 Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020 Friday, June 19, 2020 Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020 Friday, July 10, 2020 Tuesday, July 14,  2020
Friday, July 24, 2020 Friday, July 31, 2020 Tuesday, August 4, 2020

 

Back to top