Housing Requirement

  • Living on campus is a critical component of the CLASS (Clustered Learning, Advocacy, and Support for Students) experience. It provides students with the opportunity to live, learn, and experience Rensselaer and the local Troy area with members of their cohort.

On-Campus Living Requirements

The following cohorts are required to live on campus in the Residential Commons:

  • First-year students
  • Second-year students
  • Transfer Students for their first year at Rensselaer (one semester if January admission)
  • Students participating in The Arch summer term.

Greek Life Waiver Exceptions

Second-year students affiliated with an active Greek organization may submit a greek housing waiver form which grants them an exception from the campus housing requirement, allowing them to live in their organization's Institute recognized house. Students are required to return to the Residential Commons for The Arch summer term.

Housing Waivers

Students with extenuating financial or medical/health-related circumstances can request a housing waiver.

Waiver requests are reviewed by a committee that meets once every three weeks. Decisions are sent to the student's Rensselaer email account.

Note: Waivers are only granted for extreme and extenuating circumstances. Signing a lease off-campus, living locally, or roommate concerns will not typically result in a housing waiver.  Submit a request for a housing waiver

Waiver Submission Deadlines

We are no longer accepting applications for Spring 2020 or Summer 2020 Waivers

For Fall 2020

  • Returning Students- February 7, 2020
  • Incoming First-Year Students- May 22, 2020
  • New Transfer Students- July 24, 2020

Waiver Committee Meetings

Waiver Application Submitted by noon on this date: Waiver Committee will review on this date: Students will be notified of the decision by noon on this date:
Friday, February 28, 2020 Friday, March 6, 2020 Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020 Friday, March 27, 2020 Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020 Friday, April 17, 2020 Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020 Friday, May 8, 2020 Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020 Friday, May 29, 2020 Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020 Friday, June 19, 2020 Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020 Friday, July 10, 2020 Tuesday, July 14,  2020
Friday, July 24, 2020 Friday, July 31, 2020 Tuesday, August 4, 2020

Waiver Committee Appeals

Students wishing to appeal the committee’s decision regarding a housing and/or meal plan waiver must submit via email to reslife@rpi.edu a document that contains the following information:

  • Header containing, First Name, Last Name, RIN, E-mail, and contact phone number.  Additionally the type of waiver being appealed (Housing, Meal, or Housing and Meal) and what semester you are applying for a waiver. 
  • A written explanation for why you are appealing the committee’s decision.

The email to reslife@rpi.edu should have the subject line of “Waiver Committee Appeal”

Please note: Reasons for appeals should not be due to additional information that the committee was unable to review.  If you have additional information that was not reviewed by the waiver committee you must submit another request for the committee to review the decision.  Appeals will not be granted based on new or additional information.

Appeals must be received by 9:00 am the Monday following the decision email.  All appeals will be reviewed and a decision rendered within two weeks of receiving the appeal document.

Back to top